Dates and Deadlines

Distance education dates and deadlines are now the same as the main campus (effective spring 2020). This affects add/drop process, refunds and how late fees are assessed. Make sure to review the Academic Dates and Deadlines schedule below.

Spring 2022 Semester: Tuesday, January 18 – Friday, May 13, 2022

  • Joe'SS registration begins for Summer 2022 - Monday, January 3
  • Registration without Permission numbers via Joe’SS ends Monday, January 17
    **Late fee assessed for registration after this date**
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university holiday)  — Monday, January 17
  • Classwork begins 8:00 A.M. Tuesday, January 18
  • **Add via Joe’SS with permission required — Tuesday, January 18
  • Drop via Joe’SS — Tuesday, January 18
  • Last day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe’SS — Monday, January 24
  • Last day to change pass/fail grading option — Monday, January 31
  • **Last day to add courses (excluding X099, X000, X040, X050) — Monday, January 31
  • **Last day to register (excluding X099, X000, X040, X050) — Monday, January 31 
  • Last day to apply for graduation for May 2022 (Major, Minor or Emphasis) — Monday, February 14
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees — 4:30 P.M. Monday, February 14
  • Spring Career Fair — Tuesday, February 15
  • Last day to drop without a 'WD' showing on transcript — Monday, February 28
  • Last day to change to HEARER status — Monday, February 28
  • Advising Week for Fall 2022 - Mon.-Fri., March 7-11
  • Mid-semester — Saturday, March 12
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees — 4:30 P.M. Monday, March 14
  • Spring recess begins 8:00 A.M. Thursday, March 17  
  • Spring recess ends 8:00 A.M. Monday, March 21
  • Mid-semester grades available to students via Joe’SS — Monday, March 21
  • Spring break begins 8:00 A.M. Sunday, March 27
  • Spring break ends 8:00 A.M. Monday, April 4 
  • Joe’SS appointments for Fall registration begin 8:00 A.M. Monday, April 4 
  • Last day for dropping a course — Friday, April 15 
  • Last day for withdrawing from school — Friday, April 15
  • Last class day — Friday, May 6
  • Final examinations begin 7:30 A.M. Monday, May 9 
  • Final examinations end 6:00 P.M. Friday, May 13
  • Spring semester closes 6:00 P.M. Friday, May 13
  • Friday graduate and undergraduate degrees in designated departments Commencement Ceremony — 6:00 P.M. Friday, May 13 
  • Saturday graduate and undergraduate degrees in designated departments Commencement Ceremony — 10:00 A.M. Saturday, May 14
  • Saturday graduate and undergraduate degrees in designated departments Commencement Ceremony —  3:30 P.M. Saturday, May 14 
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS — Friday, May 20

 *Permission Numbers required for first two weeks via Joe’SS

**After two weeks from start of semester only classes eligible to add are Special Problems, Research, Seminar or Oral Exam. 

***Drop exclusions include co-requisites or drop below minimum hours, therefore a paper drop form will be required (unless you are a distance student. See link below for Distance Policy)

Add/Drop Policy for Distance Students

Summer 2022 Semester: Monday, June 6 – Friday, July 29, 2022

Eight-Week Session

  • Registration without Permissions Numbers via Joe’SS ends - Sunday, June 5
  • Late fee assessed for registration after this date - Sunday, June 5
  • Classwork begins - Monday, June 6
  • *Add via Joe’SS with Permission Required - Monday, June 6
  • Drop via Joe’SS - Monday, June 6
  • Last day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe’SS - Thursday, June 9
  • Last day to add courses - Sunday, June 12
  • Last day to register - Sunday, June 12
  • Last day to change grading option (Pass/Fail) - Sunday, June 12
  • Last day to apply for graduation - Friday, June 17
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees - Sunday, June 19
  • Last day to change to HEARER status - Sunday, June 26
  • Last day to drop without a “WD” showing on transcript - Sunday, June 25
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees - Sunday, July 3
  • Independence Holiday - Monday, July 4
  • Last day for dropping courses - Tuesday, July 19
  • Last day to withdraw from school - Tuesday, July 19
  • Final examinations begin 8:00 A.M. - Thursday, July 28
  • Last day of Eight Week Session - Friday, July 29
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS - Friday, August 5

First Four-Week (4W1) Session

  • Registration without Permissions Numbers via Joe’SS ends - Sunday, June 5
  • Late fee assessed for registration after this date - Sunday, June 5
  • Classwork begins - Monday, June 6
  • *Add via Joe’SS with Permission Required - Monday, June 6
  • Drop via Joe’SS - Monday, June 6
  • Last day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe'SS - Tuesday, June 7
  • Last day to register - Thursday, June 9
  • Last day to change grading option (Pass/Fail) - Thursday, June 9
  • Last day to add courses - Thursday, June 9
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees - Sunday, June 12
  • Last day to drop without a “WD” showing on transcript - Thursday, June 16
  • Last day to change to HEARER status - Thursday, June 16
  • Last day to apply for graduation - Friday, June 17
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees - Sunday, June 19
  • Last day for dropping a class - Monday, June 27
  • Last day to withdraw from school - Monday, June 27
  • Last day of First Four-Week Session - Friday, July 1
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS - Friday, July 8

Second Four-Week(4W2) Session

  • Registration without Permissions Numbers via Joe’SS ends - Sunday, July 3
  • Late fee assessed for registration after this date - Sunday, July 3
  • Classwork begins - Tuesday, July 5
  • *Add via Joe’SS with Permission Required - Tuesday, July 5
  • Drop via Joe’SS - Tuesday, July 5
  • Last day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe'SS - Wednesday, July 6
  • Last day to register - Friday, July 8
  • Last day to change grading option (Pass/Fail) - Friday, July 8
  • Last day to add courses - Friday, July 8
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees 4:30 P.M. - Monday, July 11
  • Last day to drop without a “WD” showing on transcript - Friday, July 15
  • Last day to change to hearer status - Friday, July 15
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees 4:30 P.M. - Monday, July 18
  • Last day for dropping a class - Monday, July 25
  • Last day to withdraw from school - Monday, July 25
  • Last day of Second Four-Week Session - Friday, July 29
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS - Friday, August 5

Third Four-Week(4W3) Session

  • Registration without Permissions Numbers via Joe’SS ends - Sunday, July 17
  • Late fee assessed for registration after this date - Sunday, July 17
  • Classwork begins - Monday, July 18
  • *Add via Joe’SS with Permission Required - Monday, July 18
  • Drop via Joe’SS - Monday, July 18
  • Last day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe'SS - Tuesday, July 19
  • Last day to register - Thursday, July 21
  • Last day to change grading option (Pass/Fail) - Thursday, July 21
  • Last day to add courses - Thursday, July 21
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees - Sunday, July 31
  • Last day to drop without a “WD” showing on transcript - Thursday, July 28
  • Last day to change to hearer status - Thursday, July 28
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees - Sunday, July 31
  • Last day for dropping a class - Monday, August 8
  • Last day to withdraw from school - Monday, August 8
  • Last day of Third Four-Week Session - Friday, August 12
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS - Friday, August 19


* Add/Drop Process & Refund Policy

 

Main campus students: Registrar’s Office requires that on-campus students requesting to drop a distance course provide a physical drop slip with signatures and turn that into the Registrar’s Office. Please refer to the drop dates and refund policies at registrar.mst.edu, if you need to drop an on-campus course.

Fall 2022 Semester: Monday, August 22 - Friday, December 16, 2022

  • Registration without Permission Numbers via Joe’SS ends Sunday, August 21
  • Late fee assessed for registration after this date — Sunday, August 21
  • Classwork begins 8:00 A.M. Monday, August 22
  • *Add via Joe’SS with Permission Required — Monday, August 22
  • Drop via Joe’SS — Monday, August 22
  • Last Day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe’SS  — Sunday, August 28
  • Last day to change pass/fail grading option — Sunday, September 4
  • Last day to register  — Sunday, September 4
  • Last day to add courses — Sunday, September 4
  • Labor Day Holiday — Monday, September 5
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees  — Sunday, September 18
  • Last day to apply for graduation for December 2022 (Major, Minor or Emphasis)  — Tuesday, September 20
  • Fall Career Fair  — Tuesday, September 27
  • Last day to drop without a "WD" showing on transcript  — Monday, October 3
  • Last day to change to HEARER status  — Monday, October 3
  • Fall Break Begins — Thursday, October 6
  • Fall Break Ends — Monday, October 10
  • Mid-semester  — Saturday, October 15
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees  — Sunday, October 16
  • Mid-semester grades available to students via Joe’SS — Monday, October 24
  • Advising Week for Spring and Summer 2023  — Monday-Friday, October 24-28
  • Joe’SS registration appointments begin for Spring 2023 — Monday, October 31
  • Last day for dropping a course  — Friday, November 11
  • Last day for withdrawing from school  — Friday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving vacation begins 8:00 A.M. Sunday, November 20
  • Thanksgiving vacation ends 8:00 A.M. Monday, November 28
  • Last Class Day  —  Friday, December 9
  • Final examinations begin 7:30 A.M. Monday, December 12
  • Final examinations end 5:00 P.M. Friday, December 16
  • Fall Semester closes 5:00 P.M. Friday, December 16
  • Friday PhD Degrees in all Departments: Commencement Ceremony - 6:00 P.M. Friday, December 16
  • Saturday Graduate and Undergraduate Degrees in Designated Departments Commencement Ceremony — 10:00 A.M. Saturday, December 17
  • Saturday Graduate and Undergraduate Degrees in Designated Departments Commencement Ceremony — 3:30 P.M. Saturday, December 17
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS  — Friday, December 23
  • Joe'SS registration begins for Summer 2023 - Monday, January 2

First Eight-Week Session

  • Registration without Permissions Numbers via Joe’SS ends - Sunday, August 21
  • Late fee assessed for registration after this date - Sunday, August 21
  • Classwork begins - Monday, August 22
  • *Add via Joe’SS with Permission Required - Monday, August 22
  • Drop via Joe’SS - Monday, August 22
  • Last day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe'SS - Thursday, August 25
  • Last day to register - Sunday, August 28
  • Last day to change grading option (Pass/Fail) - Sunday, August 28
  • Last day to add courses - Sunday, August 28
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees - Sunday, September 4
  • Last day to drop without a “WD” showing on transcript - Sunday, September 11
  • Last day to change to HEARER status - Sunday, September 11
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees - Sunday, September 18
  • Last day for dropping a class - Tuesday, October 4
  • Last day to withdraw from school - Tuesday, October 4
  • Final exams begin 8:00 A.M. - Thursday, October 13
  • Last day of First Eight-Week Session - Friday, October 14
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS - Friday, October 21

Second Eight-Week Session

  • Registration without Permissions Numbers via Joe’SS ends - Sunday, August 21
  • Late fee assessed for registration after this date - Sunday, August 21
  • Last day to register - Sunday, October 16
  • Classwork begins - Monday, October 17
  • *Add via Joe’SS with Permission Required - Monday, October 17
  • Drop via Joe’SS - Monday, October 17
  • Last day for 100% refund for dropped courses via Joe'SS - Thursday, October 20
  • Last day to change grading option (Pass/Fail) - Sunday, October 23
  • Last day to add courses - Sunday,October 23
  • Last day for 50% refund of fees - Sunday, October 30
  • Last day to drop without a “WD” showing on transcript - Sunday, November 6
  • Last day to change to HEARER status - Sunday, November 6
  • Last day for 25% refund of fees - Sunday, November 13
  • Last day for dropping a class - Tuesday, December 6
  • Last day to withdraw from school - Tuesday, December 6
  • Final exams begin 8:00 A.M. - Thursday, December 15
  • Last day of Second Eight-Week Session - Friday, December 16
  • Final grades available to students via Joe’SS - Friday, October 23

*Permission Numbers required for first two weeks via Joe’SS

Add/Drop Process & Refund Policy

 

Main campus students: Registrar’s Office requires that on-campus students requesting to drop a distance course provide a physical drop slip with signatures and turn that into the Registrar’s Office. Please refer to the drop dates and refund policies at registrar.mst.edu, if you need to drop an on-campus course.

Have a Question?

We are here to answer any of your questions about Missouri S&T’s distance education programs.

Phone: 573-882-2491

Email Us  Request Info